Company with history - Our history

Today the Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co. KG is one of the leading companies for pipe elbow production in Europe. With more than 30 employees, Hülsen serves customers all over the world from its location in Tönisvorst on the Niederrhein. The company does not only stand for individual pipe mould production, but also for reliability, development and long-term orientation. On this page you can find out more about the history of the Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co. KG.

1881 Founded his first workshop Jakob Hülsen in Krefeld.

The foundation stone for the company was laid Jakob Hülsen in 1881 by a coppersmith and pumpmaker: In the pulsating silk town of Krefeld, the craftsman began to manufacture vats and tools for dye works in his workshop. The first expansion takes place before the Second World War: Hülsen moves into a factory hall to carry out gas fusion welding for copper for the first time. A short time later he upgrades: The electrofusion welding process for steels is used for the first time for sleeves.

On course again quickly after the Second World War: Johannes Hülsen takes over the company

Although the Hülsen workshop was destroyed twice during the Second World War, the company continued to grow: Johannes Hülsen, son of the company founder, took over the workshop in 1937. It was mainly the manufacture of coal bath furnaces and vacuum systems that made the company stand out at that time.

Seamless pressed elbows production first took place in 1959

As early as 1959, almost 60 years ago now, the Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co. KG was the first company to produce seamlessly pressed pipe bends in series. The company grows so fast that the managing director decides to build a new location for the company in Tönisvorst, close to Krefeld: At the current headquarters of the Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co. KG, a spacious factory site with a modern factory hall and administration buildings is created. Almost at the same time Johannes Hülsen hands over the company to his son Heinz - the third generation of the family. 

Development and progress: pipe elbow production leads the company

The demand for seamlessly pressed pipe bends increases steadily from year to year and becomes the core business of the Jakob HülsenGmbH & Co.KG. The warehouses will be adapted, the machinery upgraded and the vertical range of manufacture significantly increased. The company also starts welding half-shell bends and other pipe fittings and is gaining an ever-increasing market share. Customers come from the shipping, sanitary and chemical industries. Sleeves are permitted to issue their own acceptance test certificates and can thus deliver pipe bends to systems subject to acceptance more quickly and unbureaucratically.

Competitiveness increased through further expansion

At the beginning of the 90s, Hülsen puts another press into operation. Now pipe bends up to a nominal diameter of DN 500 can be manufactured. In addition, a new steel plant is put into operation and both the warehouse and office buildings are extended. In the mid-90s, the family decided to share responsibilities: Under managing director Heinz Hülsen Ralf Hülsen takes over the technical management with focus on quality assurance, Ulrike Hülsen takes care of the commercial management. At the turn of the millennium, Hülsen obtained certification acc. to DIN EN ISO 9002:1994 and set the course for securing the European export market.

JHK stands for future and safety

Ulrike Thallner (born Hülsen) and Ralf Hülsen, the fourth generation of the family to manage the company, were appointed equal managing directors in October 2003. 2005 Alfred Thallner joins the company for marketing and sales. Today Ulrike and Alfred Thallner form the company management.

With Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co KG, the family around founder Jakob has created an innovative, reliable and unique company for the production of pipe fittings from non-ferrous metals, which presents German industrial trade all over the world.

The Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co. KG is based on two pillars: a reliable product range and professional services. Learn more about our services.

Almost 150 years of company history come about because we keep what we promise. Learn more about the corporate philosophy of the Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co. KG.

1881

Foundation of the first workshop by Jakob Hülsen Krefeld

1928

First relocation to a large factory building

between 1928 & 1935

Introduction of gas fusion welding for copper

1935

First application of the electrofusion welding process for steels

1937

Johannes Hülsen takes over the company (2nd generation)

1959

Start of series production of seamlessly pressed pipe bends made of non-ferrous metals

1965

Move to the current company premises in Tönisvorst Heinz Hülsen takes over the company
(3rd generation)

1981

Company anniversary: 100 years of Hülsen

1983

Upgrading of the machine park

Recording of the welding of half shell arches and further pipe moldings

1983

Construction of an additional warehouse for delivery and dispatch

1984

Sleeves receive TÜV approval acc. to AD W0

1986

Processing of the largest single order to date: three-stage vacuum cooking system

1992

Commissioning of further press

1993

Construction of another warehouse

1994

Division into commercial and technical management

1996

First participation at the TUBE Düsseldorf

1999

Purchase of longitudinal seam welding machine

2000

Certification acc. to DIN EN ISO 9002:1994

2003

Ulrike Thallner (born Hülsen) and Ralf Hülsen take over the company (4th generation)

2005

Alfred Thallner joins the company management as a Marketing and Sales supporter

2008

Implementation of a new ERP-System with integrated state-of-the-art control system for production. 

2015

Expansion of the welding department by the acquisition of a welding robot.

2018

Opening of a new and modern logistics centre in Krefeld-Fischeln

Today

Together, Ulrike and Alfred Thallner manage the fortunes of the company.

Unternehmen mit Geschichte - Unsere Historie

Heute ist die Jakob Hülsen GmbH  & Co. KG eines der führenden Unternehmen für die Rohrbogenfertigungen in Europa. Mit mehr als 30 Mitarbeitern bedient Hülsen vom Standort Tönisvorst am Niederrhein Kunden auf der ganzen Welt. Das Unternehmen steht nicht nur für individuelle Rohrformfertigungen, sondern auch für Zuverlässigkeit, Entwicklung und Langfristigkeit. Erfahren Sie auf dieser Seite mehr über die Geschichte der Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co. KG.

1881 gründet Jakob Hülsen in Krefeld seine erste Werkstatt

Den Grundstein für das Unternehmen legt Kupferschmied und Pumpenmacher Jakob Hülsen im Jahr 1881: In der pulsierenden Seidenstadt Krefeld beginnt der Handwerker in seiner Werkstatt Bottiche und Arbeitsgeräte für Färbereien herzustellen. Bereits vor dem zweiten Weltkrieg erfolgt die erste Expansion: Hülsen zieht in eine Werkhalle, um dort zum ersten Mal das Gasschmelzschweißen für Kupfer durchzuführen. Kurze Zeit später rüstet er auf: Das Elektroschweißverfahren für Stähle wird erstmalig bei Hülsen angewandt.

Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg schnell wieder auf Kurs: Johannes Hülsen übernimmt das Unternehmen

Zwar wird die Hülsen-Werkhalle im zweiten Weltkrieg gleich zwei Mal zerstört, das Unternehmen wächst aber weiterhin: Johannes Hülsen übernimmt als Sohn des Unternehmensgründers im Jahr 1937 die Werkstatt. Vor allem die Fertigung von Kohle-Badeöfen und Vakuumanlagen macht das Unternehmen damals aus.

Nahtlos gepresste Rohrbogenfertigung erfolgt erstmals 1959

Schon im Jahr 1959, inzwischen vor fast 60 Jahren, beginnt die Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co. KG das erste Mal damit, nahtlos gepresste Rohrbögen in Serie herzustellen. Der Betrieb wächst so schnell, dass sich der Geschäftsführer entschließt, für das Unternehmen einen neuen Standort in Tönisvorst, unmittelbar in der Nähe zu Krefeld, zu bauen: Auf dem heutigen Firmensitz der Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co. KG entsteht ein geräumiges Fabrikgelände mit einer modernen Werkhalle und Verwaltungsgebäuden. Fast gleichzeitig übergibt Johannes Hülsen das Unternehmen an seinen Sohn Heinz – an die dritte Generation der Familie. 

Entwicklung und Fortschritt: Rohrbogenanfertigungen führen das Unternehmen

Die Nachfrage für die nahtlos gepressten Rohrbögen steigt stetig von Jahr zu Jahr und wird das Kerngeschäft der Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co. KG. Die Lager werden angepasst, der Maschinenpark aufgerüstet und die Fertigungstiefe deutlich erhöht. Der Betrieb beginnt außerdem mit dem Schweißen von Halbschalenbogen und anderen Rohrformteilen und gewinnt einen immer größeren Marktanteil. Kunden kommen aus dem Schifffahrtsbereich, der Sanitär- und Chemieindustrie. Hülsen wird zugelassen, eigene Abnahmeprüfzeugnisse zu erstellen und kann damit Rohrbögen schneller und auf unbürokratischem Wege an abnahmepflichtige Anlagen liefern.

Wettbewerbsfähigkeit wird durch weiteren Ausbau gesteigert

Anfang der 90er nimmt Hülsen eine weitere Presse in Betrieb. Nun können Rohrbögen bis zu einer Nennweite von DN 500 gefertigt werden. Außerdem wird eine neue Stahlanlage in Betrieb genommen und sowohl die Lager- als auch die Bürogebäude erweitert. Mitte der 90er Jahre entschließt sich die Familie, die Verantwortlichkeiten zu teilen: Unter Geschäftsführer Heinz Hülsen übernimmt Ralf Hülsen die technische Leitung mit Schwerpunkt auf der Qualitätssicherung, Ulrike Hülsen betreut die kaufmännische Leitung. Zur Jahrtausendwende erlangt Hülsen die Zertifizierung nach DIN EN ISO 9002:1994 und stellt die Weichen für eine Sicherung des europäischen Exportmarktes.

JHK steht für Zukunft und Sicherheit

Mit der Ernennung zu gleichberechtigten Geschäftsführern im Oktober 2003 leiten Ulrike Thallner (geb. Hülsen) und Ralf Hülsen in der vierten Generation das Familienunternehmen. 2005 kommt Alfred Thallner für Marketing und Vertrieb dazu. Heute bilden Ulrike und Alfred Thallner die Unternehmensleitung.

Die Familie rund um Gründer Jakob hat mit der Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co KG ein innovatives, zuverlässiges und einzigartiges Unternehmen zur Herstellung von Rohrformteilen aus Nichteisen-Metallen geschaffen, das deutsches Industriehandwerk auf der ganzen Welt präsentiert.

Die Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co. KG baut auf zwei Säulen: Eine zuverlässige Produktpalette und professionelle Dienstleistungen. Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Leistungen.

Fast 150 Jahre Unternehmensgeschichte kommen Zustande, weil wir halten, was wir versprechen. Erfahren Sie hier mehr über die Unternehmensphilosophie der Jakob Hülsen GmbH & Co. KG.

1881

Gründung der ersten Werkstatt durch Jakob Hülsen in Krefeld

1928

erstmaliger Umzug in große Werkhalle

zwischen 1928 & 1935

Einführung des Gasschmelzschweißens für Kupfer

1935

erstmalige Anwendung des Elektroschweißverfahrens für Stähle

1937

Johannes Hülsen übernimmt das Unternehmen (2.Generation)

1959

Beginn der Serienproduktion von nahtlos gepressten Rohrbogen aus NE-Metallen

1965

Umzug aufs heutige Firmengelände nach Tönisvorst Heinz Hülsen übernimmt das Unternehmen
(3. Generation)

1981

Firmenjubiläum: 100 Jahre Hülsen

1983

Aufrüstung des Maschinenparks

Aufnahme des Schweißens von Halbschalenbogen und weiteren Rohformteilen

1983

Bau von weiterer Lagerhalle für Auslieferung und Versand

1984

Hülsen erhält die TÜV-Zulassung nach AD W0

1986

Abwicklung des bisher größten Einzelauftrags: dreistufiger Vakuumkochanlage

1992

Inbetriebnahme weiterer Presse

1993

Bau weiterer Lagerhalle

1994

Teilung in kaufmännische und technische Leitung

1996

erstmalige Teilnahme an der TUBE Düsseldorf

1999

Anschaffung von Längsnahtschweißanlage

2000

Zertifizierung nach DIN EN ISO 9002:1994

2003

Ulrike Thallner (geb. Hülsen) und Ralf Hülsen übernehmen das Unternehmen (4. Generation)

2005

Alfred Thallner kommt unterstützend für Marketing und Vertrieb in die Unternehmensleitung

2008

Implementierung eines neuen ERP-Systems mit integrierten hochmodernen Steuerungssystem für die Fertigung. 

2015

Erweiterung der Schweissabteilung durch Anschaffung eines Schweissroboters.

2018

Eröffung eines neuen und modernen Logisticcenter in Krefeld-Fischeln

Heute

Gemeinsam leiten Ulrike und Alfred Thallner die Geschicke des Unternehmens

Close Menu
×
×

Cart